Movie Recomendation

I stumbled upon this movie on Netflix. It has the instant play feature, and if you are a member of Netflix I highly recommend you watch this movie. *Warning it does have triggers of physical abuse.*

Life in America for Betty and her Iranian husband, “Moody” is picturesque ideal.

Things change when her husband’s family pressure her husband to come back for a “visit” to Iran.

In the movie, Moody seemed to be a normal guy while living in America. Once back in his “home” country he is very pressured by his family to return to the old way of life, and overnight, Moody changed from loving, doting husband and father to a confused, angry abusive man.

When it came time to leave from their “vacation”, Moody tells Betty that they won’t be going home. Because of strict Iranian law, Betty can’t go home on her own free will.

I see so many parallels with this movie and other religious “patriarchal” religions.

1. The man starts off loving, kind and caring of women and children

2. When Moody is put into an environment that pressures him to question his own manhood and dedication to “god”, if he doesn’t conform to the “old ways” he begins to change into a tyrant.

3. Betty mutually consented to visiting the country but once she did, there was no turning back. She was stuck. Against her own will.

Here is the trailer from the movie:

I would like to add that there is controversy concerning this movie and the book that it was based upon. There is a series on youtube that is called “Without My Daughter” which is a documentary that gives the perspective of Moody.

But honestly, given the nature of the Islam religion, I have a hard time believing Moody’s story. I do feel bad for Moody, but Moody could have gone back to America and continued his productive life there with his wife and child, and in my estimation…he chose his religion over his wife and child.

Another thing I would like to note. What is portrayed in this movie is eerily the same as abusive “Christian” sects. From FLDS, to some more acceptable ones.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Movie Recomendation

  1. Mara says:

    Kinda maked me wonder what the “Daughter’s” perspective would be?
    I wonder what she went through looked like through the eyes of a child, a girl child in a culture that blatantly favors men.

  2. Rachel says:

    I am wondering the same thing as Mara – I haven’t seen this movie but have almost seen it dozens of times. 🙂

  3. jseven says:

    Hi,

    I found your site by way of Quivering Daughters and am enjoying reading your stories. I have been in many abusive churches as well as two past marriages and God is directing my steps to these blogs, thank you and God bless!

  4. Deb says:

    I own this movie! Excellent. There are women in children in that exact situation right now. Very sad, and they need our prayers.

  5. lollypop says:

    i wish i could like this movie but it’s my MIL’s favorite and she’s very triggery for me!

  6. Debra says:

    The book is a million times better than the movie. If you get a chance to read it be prepared to be hooked – you won’t get anything done for several days. To me the movie and especially the escape scene felt rushed. The escape in the book is gripping as well as the rest of the book as Betty plots (with the help of a few Iranian friends) her escape.

    In the book Betty explains why she agreed to go to Iran with her husband even though she knew deep down that it was a bad choice – it was the lesser of two evils. I won’t give it away.

Leave a Reply

