Georgia (On My Mind)

After I was “saved”, nothing much exciting happened. At least in the realm of the subject of this blog.

I went to Public school Kindergarten, and First Grade. I did “OK” in school, but I would rather be with my mommy. When my best friend’s (The one who got “saved” the same time I did) mom decided to home school her, I begged my mom to home school me too. I had begged my mom to home school me before I went to kindergarten, but she told me she wasn’t smart enough to do it.

So when my best friend’s mother pulled her out of school, and another little boy from my kindergarten class was thriving with homeschooling…my mother’s mind was opened to the possibility.

She talked to the little boy’s mother and my best friend’s mother. She bought books by Raymond and Dorothy Moore, and Greg Harris….and she was convinced she could home school. I was pleased and excited!

She bought me Second Grade “Lifepacs” from Alpha Omega publishing, and we began our school year. My older brother had graduated High School and was now living in another state. Mom took his old room and turned it into a classroom. It was kinda of cool, because when my public school friends got home from school, we would play school in the class room.

My most favorite Memory of that time was spending eons of time with mom reading to me from the Little House Series.

That is when I began to fall in love with the “Little House” life style. I wished I could have been born back in that time period.

During this time, as well, my parents purchased a travel trailer lot in a Georgia Mountain Resort.  It seemed we went there every weekend. On Friday’s after homeschooling, we would get our stuff, get our two dogs and take the two our drive north into the mountains. Dad would meet us later in the evening when he left from work.

Mom and I would sing silly kid bible songs on the way up to the mountains, and just enjoying being with each other.

This campground mountain resort was where I was first introduced to riding horses. They had a barn that gave trail rides into the mountains. It was “free” to ride the horses with those who owned a lot in the resort and paid their association fees.

So, I would ride at least once, maybe twice in the weekend. The resort also had awesome activities planned. Bingo, field trips to water falls, and gold and gem digging. They would have cook outs, and contests.

These were some of the best moments in my life!

The only thing that mom and dad did “weird” in conjunction with homeschooling, was that mom had us stop celebrating Halloween. When she explained the “evil” behind this holiday, it wasn’t hard for me to give it up. I mean I missed dressing up and going trick or treating of course, but mom always made compromises with me.

The first time we skipped Halloween, we went to see a movie, and she bought me a BIG bag of candy.

The next Halloween, I believe we were in the mountains at our lot. They had activities planned that were halloweenish, but mom let me do them. Pumpkin carving contests, and costume contests.

I didn’t know that they were going to have a costume contest, and I didn’t have anything. My sister was with us, and she designed me costume, “out of nothing”. A wind up Doll costume. I looked like “Truly” from Chitty, Chitty, Bang, Bang.

Because of my love of riding the horses on the trails at the Georgia Mountain Resort, and “incidents” with safety that kept happening on the trails…my mom enrolled me into horse back riding lessons.

I took lessons from a lady that taught the daughter of one my mom’s friends that encouraged her to home school me.

These lessons just made my love of horses grow deeper and stronger. I LOVED it! I wanted my own horse. At home, I got all the neighborhood kids to turn their bikes into “horses”.

My life was good. I had a strong relationship with my mom and dad. I was thriving in my homeschooling. I had friends… in the neighborhood, and in the home school realm.

Then one night, Dad took us out to Chinese and told mom and me, that his company was considering to transfer him the FL. At first I loved this idea. I would be near my Grandma, *and*, Hello! Disney World?!

Coincidently, my brother, who was also living in FL at the time, was giving my Grandmother troubles. He lived with her, you see. Grandma said that he had a girlfriend that was “bad news”.

We drove down to FL to meet my brother’s girlfriend. We ended up staying about three months. I packed a weeks worth of toys to entertain me, expecting to be there for only a week or two. But that didn’t happen.

This girl friend was bad news…and she drove my brother into a deep depression. Too long of a story to get into on this blog. But it was not a fun time for me or anyone else for that matter. And that is why we stayed longer in FL than we had originally planed. And I just wanted to go back to Georgia.

Plus, Grandma lived in a neighborhood that was full of old people, and the streets were busy with cars. I couldn’t ride my bike, and I had no friends. I decided I wanted to live in Georgia after all.

But that wasn’t going to be the case. Dad’s company was indeed going to transfer him.  So I had been stuck in FL for three months, with really no chance at saying goodbye to my friends.

We went back to Georgia for about two or three weeks to pack up our house. I was terribly sad. I remember crying a lot when we said our last goodbyes and drove away from our house for the last time.

My life as I knew it was going to change.

Georgia, Georgia
The whole day through (the whole day through)
Just an old sweet song
Keeps Georgia on my mind (Georgia on my mind)
I said a Georgia, Georgia
A song of you (a song of you)
Comes as sweet and clear as moonlight through the pines
Other arms reach out to me
Other eyes smile tenderly
Still in the peaceful dreams I see
The road leads back to you
I said Georgia, oh Georgia, no peace I find (no peace i find)
Just an old sweet song
Keeps Georgia on my mind (Georgia on my mind ohh)
Other arms reach out to me
Other eyes smile tenderly
Still in peaceful dreams I see
The road leads back to you
Oh Georgia,
No peace, no peace I find
Just an old, sweet song
Keeps Georgia on my mind (Georgia on my mind)
Other arms reach out to me
Other eyes smile tenderly
Still in peaceful dreams I see
The road leads back to you
Oh Georgia, Georgia
No peace, no peace I find
Just an old sweet song
Keeps Georgia on my mind (Georgia on my mind)
I said just an old sweet song
Keeps Georgia on my mind

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

