Not a Calvinist (Why that is in my Blog’s Tag Line)

Calvinists are Elite

I am wholly responsible for the mess ups in my life. I take full accountability for the way things went. It went kind of bad for a long time. :-/

But that doesn’t mean that what happened to me, as the result of my choices was OK. In essence I was brainwashed, Yes I allowed the brainwashing to happen. But happened it did. And it happened to me at a young a vulnerable age. An age that was tender. I was trusting, hopeful, full of energy, vitality, and innocent. I wanted to do what was right. I didn’t want to take the “world’s path”. So I submitted willingly. But I bought a lie.

Kind of like Eve did with Satan. She was tender (heck she was just made!, LOL!), trusting, hopeful, full of vitality and innocent. Satan lied to her. God told her whole plain simple truth, but Satan, made his lie, sound pretty true.

She would know of Good and Evil. She would not die. At least not the moment she bit into the fruit. And it did look good, and for a while it tasted good. Good enough to share! All God said, was that in the day she ate it she would surely die. She didn’t believe God, but she looked at a beautiful creature who told her seemingly good things, and she bought it. She had been deceived.

That was me. And once I got my brain in correct working order again, I am *VERY* cautious with it. 😉 My natural-born weakness is to jump head first into something sensational. Something that sounds good, awesome, or the “next best thing”.

When I was going through my “issues” of “religion” there weren’t any blogs in blog land that dealt with my brand of Christianity. I found blogs and websites dedicated to helping Jehovah Witnesses, Mormons, Seventh Day Adventists, and other cultish religions. But never my brand of Christianity.

I thought that I was going crazy. Maybe I had the problem with God. Maybe I was rebelling against authority, and God and everything else. It was a very icky place to be. Feeling like you are loosing your mind, going to your “trusted Biblical Counselors” only to for them to say you are being selfish and get out and serve God more.

I was never a Calvinist. But while I was going through my “spiritual wilderness” I ran across some on online forums. I dabbled with it and studied it, and prayed about it open mindedly. It left me more disillusioned with God and Christianity. Maybe I wasn’t elect? If I am not elected than what’s the point of even seeking God to begin with? What’s the point of reading my Bible if I am doomed to Hell, and I have no say so in the matter?

It isn’t my intentions to debate this issue. I have already done so several times, and I don’t have time for it.  But the reason for this post is to state that I am not a Calvinist…..because….

When blogs finally started to be published of people who had the same issues with fundamentalism as I had, I began to notice an alarming amount of disillusioned fundamentalist have now moved over to Calvin’s Side. In my opinion it is the clock pendulum of moving from one extreme to the next.

I refuse to jump in head first. I did that one too many times, and I got burned for it. This time, this girl is going to read the Bible for herself, and ask the Lord to teach her what it means. So even though I have now ditched the denim jumper and am wearing blue jeans, and leaving legalism, I have not become reformed as so many of my fundamentalist friends have done and are doing.

And another reason I have been very reluctant to embrace Calvin’s doctrine, is that many of the legalists in the homeschooling movement are indeed reformed.

Please don’t mistake me for lumping every Calvinist together and generalizing them. Because, I do know some non legalistic reformed people, that are serious about their faith in Jesus, but are loving, non judgmental and truly graceful people.

However, I do believe, that when you bring reformed teachings and doctrine’s to its logical conclusion, it is still a works based religion.

I am also not an Arminian. Meaning, I don’t believe it is *all* up to me to be saved. The only thing I have to do is believe the gospel. Jesus did it all, what do I have to do with it?

I also don’t believe one can lose their salvation. But that doesn’t make me a Calvinist. And just because I believe I have free choice to believe God, doesn’t make me an Arminian either. 🙂

So that is the reason for the tagline of Not a Calvinist. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Not a Calvinist (Why that is in my Blog’s Tag Line)

  1. hopewellmomschoolagain says:

    Good blog! You may be interested in my blogs as well– http://hopewellmomschoolreborn.blogspot.com/ [Personal blog about where I often blog Gothard, Quiverfull, etc] and my information blog A Full Quiver of Information http://hopewellmomschoolreborn.blogspot.com/ I look forward to reading more on your blog.

  2. Robin says:

    You sound just as confused as I am! 🙂

  3. Ginger says:

    Amen, though I was never a Calvinist!
    I am of the Quiverful mind, but not the movement.
    I am not out to have as many kids as I can, I am about having the kids God give me. It has been 8 years since God gave me the last one and I am ok with that:)

  4. Ginger says:

    I can’t wait:) I would LOVE MORE babies, but God has closed down that part of my body! So I have as many arrows as my quiver will hold:) LOL….

  5. Debra Baker says:

    I’m a Calvin Kleinist

    John Calvin, not so much.

  6. TulipGirl says:

    Ironically, lots of my Reformed friends shake their heads about Doug Phillips, et al, and wonder what kind of Reformed he means, because it sure isn’t historic, convenantal Reformed theology, full of grace to the struggling.

    • Cally Tyrol says:

      Yes yes yes! Doug Phillips is a cafeteria calvinist. He and his ministry would be totally rejected by Calvin and the Reformed churches of the time because he refuses to baptize covenant children. You can’t be Reformed and be a credobaptist. That’s like a contradiction in terms.

      Ironically, I used to be 100% Reformed. I’ve since become an Orthodox Christian but Phillips’ intellectual dishonesty still drives me bonkers.

    • I am sure there are Reformed people that are appalled at Doug Phillips. I know a few that probably have never even heard of him. But again, no discussion about Calvinists as of now, because it goes round and round 😉

    • TC says:

      I wonder how many “Calvinists” who embrace legalism have actually read Calvin? As TulipGirl said, genuine Reformed theology is all about grace, grace, grace!

  7. Jennie says:

    I so agree with you about the legalists in the homeschool movement being Calvinists. I used to be in a very legalistic reformed church. I tried to believe it, but it never completely set right with me. I’m so glad to be out of all that! Legalists can be so mean to each other, and you can never be good enough.

  8. Debra Baker says:

    I have had bad experiences with SGM’s org (associated with CBMW and the patriarchy.)

    They’re reformedish, not like Tulipgirl (who represents her theology rather well.)

  9. Also, I am not a conventional “fundamentalist”….. I so hate labels now.

  10. Holly says:

    Hi! I’m a new visitor here – have enjoyed reading as much as you have written in this place. 🙂

    I’m not Calvinist, either – but I did want to clarify something (not debate!) 🙂

    Armenians don’t believe that salvation is all up to the individual. Most of what Calvinists call “Armenians” (or…heretics) aren’t actually that. They are most generally Wesleyan Armenians – following off of the branch of theology developed by John Wesley. They (we) would say that salvation comes by the gift and provision of God, and that our lives afterward are empowered by the Holy Spirit working patiently in our lives. Having choice (free will) does not mean that we think it is all up to us.

    Anyway – loved your stories. I can relate! God bless you!

  11. Deb says:

    Not a Calvinist either … I believe that Romans 9 “Jacob I loved” is talking about nations. I believe that when the hardening of Pharoah’s heart is discussed, it is not about salvation – his heart was hardened towards letting the Jews go free. In fact, in hardening his heart, God’s mighty power was revealed, and Pharoah had an opportunity to see the One true God at work, as did many Egyptions – which, a multitude left with the Jews. I believe that Paul was trying to say to the Jews at Rome “Don’t say it isn’t fair to let the Gentiles in! God will deal with man as He likes!” Then when we look at the charactor of God, we know He is no respecter of persons, and He is not random. He would not say “You. Not you. You, you, you. Not you” as in unconditional election. I believe as A.W. Tozer put it, that in His Sovereignty, God has given man choice. Choice is how God wanted it to be, and it is all in line with His character that He would do so. And that is, a real, true choice. Not as in, “you do get to choose – the only thing is, there is only one choice you will make. I believe that it is by God’s drawing us that we come to Him, but that His grace is not irresistable. We can say now. I believe He draws all men, and some turn away. As in Ezekiel 18:23 states, God takes no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather desires that he would turn and live. “Choose life” and “seek God while He may be found” is a theme all through scripture, and it is consistant with His attributes. That He gives men a real, true choice does not make Him less Sovereign. ***Big sigh.***

    Thanks – just refreshing that someone is putting it right out there. I needed this moment to let it all spill out.

    • Totally agree with you Deb. I am dispensationalist, and I do know that some reformed folks are as well. (The graceful ones at least 😉 ) But it is my experience that the doctrine of Calvinism doesn’t leave much room for dispensations. I think dispensations are very important in interpreting the Bible. I mean, we don’t stone our rebellious kids do we, now? 😉

  12. ImminentDawn says:

    Hi,
    I completely relate to what you said about jumping head first into things! And I, too, am determined to take my Bible and prayerfully check out everything I hear! I came across your blog as I was doing research on ATI after recommending it to a friend without checking it out. Everything I’ve read from you and the blogs of others has sealed it in my mind that I can only trust one person: Jesus Himself.
    If you get the chance, please check out my blogs:
    http://imminentdawn.wordpress.com
    http://araioflight.wordpress.com
    God bless!

Leave a Reply

